302 engine swapped into a 67 coupe sixer?

Boostedpimp

Dirt-Old 20+Year Member
May 8, 2003
NJ
Okey, i've never done an engine swap but have done my own stuff like heads, intake and turbo so I'm not a complete newb but my question is..

i found a 6 cyclinder 67 coupe cheep really cheap and was wondering what it would involve? what kinda cost am I looking at if I pick up a cheap 5.0 engine what would be needed to complete this swap for example I would prob need new front springs from a v8 right? what about motor motors and electronics? and the rear in the sixer is that a 8.8? prob not right?

any help would be great

Ryan

• Sponsors (?)

Brakes probably needs to be upgraded too... it would be a good swap from drum to disc all around. it probably has 4-lug, so you would want to change that to 5-lug hubs. Yes, you would need V8 coil springs. I think 8" rear comes with sixes... If so, it's probably good up to 300-400hp range. I am not sure about the motor mounts - I am sure someone will answer that. You can do the search on the I6 to V8 swap - I'll bet you will find lots of good info there.

This issue has been discussed here so many times that to answer again is pointless. If your wallet doesn't mind, you are skilled and have lots of time, by all means DO IT.

Study up on the "Times Wisdoms" (below)

LMan said:
the convention wisdom is, it isnt worth the time/$$$ when you can buy a V8 car to start with.

I agree with the conventional wisdom.

Those quotes are nice but im getting this car for $1100 without any rust decent paint and a rod knocking v6 engine. Only faws seem to be the front bench but that's coming out for some buckets.

so it's worth the time/money to me

TheWolf said:
Thats kinda rare too with the bench seat. Don't butcher it, get another one and someone restore that one.