89 Lx 5.0 Auto Trans Choices?

The AOD in my 89 LX 5.0 is dying. What other automatic choices do I have? I'd like something that can handle extra power, but still be good for cruising around (which is the majority of what I do in it....it's a convertible :flag: ).

Is the crappy AOD my only option? Would hate to rebuild a tranny I don't like in the first place.

Help!! I'm new to all this and hoping someone has been through this before.

Thanks.

• Sponsors (?)

No matter what trans you go with, you'll need a little bit higher of a stall converter to go with your cam.

I would suggest a 4R70W. There's a nice aftermarket controller and wiring kit to control it. It's essentially a fully electronic AOD. So it'll bolt right up in place of the AOD and you'll have added strength along with more reliability :)

You can find them in '93-'03 F150's but only '93-96 will work since they're the only years with the 5.0 and 5.8. Modular engines have different bellhousing bolt patterns.

EDIT: Here's the link to the transmission controller I was telling you about
http://www.becontrols.com/

Reactions: 1 user
Based on some of the replies - ???

You have a mild engine. So? :)

Since you have less than 900HP, so it makes ZERO SENSE to get rid of the AOD!
Seems like people don't know squat about the AOD and it's potential. I guess the manual guys get all of the attention. :)

You can put any decent rebuilt AOD in your car, it will make no difference!
Yea, you have a E cam and a Cobra heads & intake. So? Still, that's no reason at all to go to a higher stall convertor for a daily driver. Huh?

It depends on what you want with the tranny and what you want to spend!

If you want a tranny that will LAST another 20+ years, then send a PM to SilverFoxbody.
http://www.stangnet.com/mustang-forums/members/silverfoxbody.84686/