All 4 Speakers not working Mach 460

Eman38

Nov 10, 2019
Ohio
I’m sure this as been talked about. I’m new to the mustang world. My 4 speakers are not working but the Tweeters are. Could both amps be bad. And how can I test them to see I switch them around and still the same thing. Any help would be great thanks

• Sponsors (?)

They're screwy in their specs; no aftermarket amps/speakers work with them. I gutted mine over a blown speaker, and would definitely do it again (much better sound).

As for your situation, have you checked for power at the amps? They are still much like a standard amp in that they require a power signal from the headunit and from the battery (at the fuse block). If both of those are present, then I'd suspect a bad amp. If not, that should at least give you an idea of what to look further at (power input or the headunit).

I checked the power plugs to the amps and in the plug I have 3 pins that have power to them But no power coming out of the other end of the amp on both of them. U think both amps are bad I’m kinda sick of it.

The output of the amps would be AC rather than DC; you'd need something like a oscilloscope to see the whole picture, but a multimeter set to AC should be able to tell if there's any output. From the wiring diagrams I can find, it appears that the speaker outputs are Black/Light Green and Black/White for both amps (technically a mono setup). You should get some AC current between those two when the amp is on.

Also note that each of the rear amps controls a different set of speakers (front and rear). The tweeters run off a smaller amp under the head unit up front. You may indeed have two bad amps in this situation.