Another newbie.

bobbylx

Mar 3, 2004
Ok, well I just bought an 88 mustang lx and found this wonderful place to ask for advice. So, here I go. For some background I found this car in the mountains of NC and bought it for $900. It has 66k original miles and is in really good shape. Typical aged paint job and worn interior. I am just curious what I can do to squeeze a little extra horse power out of it without doing too many mods? I can't really afford to convert to turbo at this time. Really just looking for simple things I can do. This is my first mustang but I am an OK mechanic. First thing I did was remove the air filter silencer and remove my AC belt. AC has been dead a long time. I put some new plugs in it and put a K&N air filter. This has made it much more responsive already. Are there any other easy mods like this I can do? I am also going to replace the exhaust, that thing is rusted to pieces. What should I think about replacing the exhaust, I would like it to have a nice sound also, not like a ricer. Anyway, thanks in advance. If I can figure out how I will link to some pics soon, in case anyone is interested.

• Sponsors (?)

Yeah, since you have an '88 you should be able to use a Civic CAI, some of the guys here have done it. I'd go with Dynomax Super Turbo mufflers for the exhaust, I love mine. Get pics as soon as you can! :D

Ash

glad to have you on here. I have an '88 as well.

Truth is, not much you can do to the engine that's gonna make it exciting except going turbo. For the money you can throw at it while it's naturally aspirated, I'd save those funds for turboing.

Cheapest stuff is bumping the timing to 14 degree's, long tube header, adjustable fuel pressure regulator, bigger fuel pump, better ignition components - but none of that stuff is going to help much. You can make it more responsive via that route but not much more powerful. If it's an auto, I'd def recommend a 5 speed swap.