ATTN Guys with FTI CAMS

1of1971GTs

Nov 9, 2004
N.H
I need serious help from anyone that is running FTI cams. I've been fighting my car for 2 years and it just doesnt produce good times at the track. I have been tweeceing it for sometime now and still there is something missing in the picture. Last year the car bested a 12.41 at 110, with 1.60 60s. This year its done nothing but 12.5.12.6 at 109 108. I run a 13.3-13.5 AFR at WOT. Im just goin to list off all the crap done on this car... dss 306, girdle tray, AFR 165s, FTI cam, typhoon intake mild porting (performer RpM knock off), mac equal lenghts, pro chamber H, flowmaster cat back, run 4.10 gears, lakewood lift bars, bbk crappy springs, weld drag lites with 27x10.50 Mt et streets, oh 70mm tb, 73mm c&l, 24lb injectors. Beside not having it dynoed yet to see what the powers like, i dont know what gives with this car. It only weights 3150 with me in it. The 60fts are consistant 1.65 1.68 this year. I think last year i saw one 1.609. I'm looking for serious conversation. I will have this car dynoed to make certain the power it makes. Ed what telling me last year it was suspention. I dont want to put drag springs in the car. I wouldnt mind strange shocks and struts. Beside sprayin this car i would like to see it do low 12s all day on the motor. Im running at New England dragway, and in Oct the DA sometimes is BELOW sea level. Not like theres bad air. Talk tweecer, talk suspention, talk anything. I'm all ears.

• Sponsors (?)

In order to get bottom 12's you will need 115 or so mph , it seems to me you hit the wall as far as engine power is concerned and now you have to move onto suspension to make it all work. Those are respectable times for that combo you just got to make it work now. Look at the suspension under a pure street car to see how to get a car to work down the track.

110 mph is not bad at all for that combo:nice:

It really depends on what you told Ed you wanted with your combination (camshaft).