Blew my motor, new MMR 750 build in progress

ace305

Dec 28, 2011
I blew my Kenne Bell Bullitt. I am currently pulling the motor. I ordered a MMR 750 rotating assembly with MMR custom cams. Block is going to Diamond Racing in Hammond La for the machine work. I am keeping the heads stock but I am rebuilding them my self. This is my first build and looking forward to it. I have read George Reid 4.6 rebuild book at least 12 times so far. The only thing that scares me a little is the getting the timing correct. I am only looking for about 500 HP. I have the suspension and brakes completed for track days at the NOLA Motorsports Park witch has a INDY track.

Any advice with the build is greatly appreciated.

Eric

• Sponsors (?)

As long as you have cylinder 1 at top dead center it’s easy. I just did it about 2 weeks ago on a 5.4 sohc. Just take pics and post if your unsure, a lot of people here can help you. The chain has alignment marks, easiest way is of course start at the crank, follow the non tensioned guide to the cam, move the cam so it lines up with the timing marks on the chain, then route the chain under the tensioned guide. As long as alignment mark on crank gear and chain are lined up and alignment marks on cam gear and chain are lined up you’re golden!

As long as you have cylinder 1 at top dead center it’s easy. I just did it about 2 weeks ago on a 5.4 sohc. Just take pics and post if your unsure, a lot of people here can help you. The chain has alignment marks, easiest way is of course start at the crank, follow the non tensioned guide to the cam, move the cam so it lines up with the timing marks on the chain, then route the chain under the tensioned guide. As long as alignment mark on crank gear and chain are lined up and alignment marks on cam gear and chain are lined up you’re golden!
awesome thanks. I will set the cam close to 11 and 12 respectively but are they easy to move by hand if I need to make an adjustment to line the chain link and cam gear?