Body work questions?

bobbylx

Mar 3, 2004
Well, I have been working on my 88LX for a while now. I am trying to smooth out the body due to old paint job, hail damage, rust and I just don't want it blue anymore. I am trying to do all this on a low budget. It is currently about 75% primer gray now, with all the rust ground to bare metal and covered. I didn't strip off the old blue paint, I just used Bondo spot filler where I ground out the rust spots.
I just have a couple of questions. I have been doing minor body work on my own cars for about 10 years now, but I am trying to do "good" work this time. The only part that is not primered right now is the hood and top. This is also the only place that has hail damage. What would be the best way to get rid of this? Will the spot filler work, or would it crack after a while? I am also going to hold off on a real paint job for a couple of years and just keep it primer black. Is there a good CHEAP sprayer out there? I would go through quite a few cans and they don't spray good on the hood and top. Also, will the primer fill small scratches? I had to use a putty knife and heavy grit sandpaper to get rid of my pin stripes and I have some sanding marks now. Should I fill those or will the primer fill that in?
I also posted last week about cleaning my headlights. Mine are too far gone. The mirror finish inside the headlights still looks good, just the clear lens' are nasty. Is there a place to buy just the clear pieces or do you have to buy the complete kit?
Thanks in advance, and remember I'm poor(just on a low budget). :p

• Sponsors (?)

rule of thumb in body work is to use a little filler as possible. Depending on how bad the dings from the hail are, i would use a dinging hammer as much as possible before messing with bondo/cold filler. Also whenever you use filler, always take it down to the metal before applying it....if you want it to last and be a quality finish , that is.

Headlights, no, u hafta buy the whole thing.