Car suddenly won't start??? Coil???

I had my 70 Mach 1 completly apart this winter. Got it back together and it ran fine. Took it out a couple of times. Had a radiator leak and I got a new radiator and installed it. Car started just fine. As soon as I put it in gear it started to hesitate and stumble. It then died after moving 20 feet. Would not restart. Just spun like theres no spark. My question is could it be the coil going out? I have a mallory promaster that has been in there for 20 years with no problems. Unilite distributor for the same amount of time with no issues. Theres power going into the coil but with the key on but theres no power going out of the coil that I confirmed with a test light. Should a test light be able to detect power coming out of the coil without the car running? Im testing the wire that goes to the distributor, not the coil wire (spark plug wire) going to the middle of the cap. How can I tell if it's the coil causing these problems Hope I'm being clear on this. Thanks for the help in advance.

• Sponsors (?)

Disconnect the coil wire from the distributor and lay the end on a good ground so you can see it spark. Have someone crank over the engine and see if you get a good spark while cranking. If you do, the coil probably isn't bad.

I've had a case where a bad starter was causing a very weak spark, so you could see a spark from the end of the coil wire but it was too weak to spark the plugs and ignite the mixture.

Check to make sure you are getting fuel too...

I agree with the coil test mentioned above... give it a try. You should be able to get a 1/16" arc to ground.

There is no way a bad starter could cause ignition problems. Starter solenoid maybe, but not the starter itself.