Clutch/Pressure Plate Not Releasing ???

wink05

May 21, 2007
I have a 1970 Mach I, 351 and 4 speed trans, 38K miles.

If the car sits more than a week, the clutch and pressure plate (I'm not a mechanic, hope I'm using the right terms) are not releasing. When I try to start the car, it's in gear and pressing the clutch has no effect. Is there a simple solution, or will replacing the clutch/pressure plate solve the problem?

Thanks in advance for your time and help.

• Sponsors (?)

It could be as simple as adjusting the clutch lever mechanism, but that doesn't explain why it only happens after it sits for a week. Are you using the factory style clutch mechanism or aftermarket cable or hydraulic? I would say based on the symptom, you won't need to replace the clutch or pressure plate, most likely just the mechanism used to disengage the clutch.

Sounds like a bit of surface rust is forming on PP, disk and flywheel. Do you live in a humid area? If you start the car in gear, with the car pointed in a clear direction of course, this'll usually break it loose, IF its a rust situation.

It is the factory clutch mechanism (only thing replaced on the car is tune-up, belts/hoses).

The vehicle is in the North Texas area, not real humid, compared to some parts of the US, but I suspected rust as gjz30075 mentioned.......sometimes it will break loose when I first hit the starter, but on two or three occassions, have had to hook on to it with the tractor and pull it to break it loose.......DON'T LIKE THAT OPTION.......so looking for a permenant fix as I'm not always available to start it on a weekly basis.