Fuel Fuel Injector replacement

gearhead77

Mar 13, 2019
Pittsburgh PA
My 89 5.0 has a stumble at part throttle and idle. I have replaced most everything ignition related except the distributor itself. I'm fairly certain I have a bad injector or two, the car sat for a long time (10 years). I have run all methods of injector cleaner through it (including at the rail) and it improved a little bit , but now its worse, leading me to believe an injector is bad. No codes from the EEC. Car is stock and I plan on keeping it like that or maybe some very minor mods.

- What brand injectors should I get?
- Tips or tricks to getting the top of the intake apart?
-Do new injectors come with all necessary parts or do I need to buy O-rings and such too?

Of course, I have some other seepage at the valve cover gaskets. Should I do those while the intake is apart? Anything else on the top of the engine to deal with while the intake is off?

Any suggestions are welcome, this is my first project car and I'm trying to keep it as it was in 1989 when it left the factory but upgrade when I can.

Thanks.

• Sponsors (?)

An option is to send you injectors in for professional rebuild. I did this with the 30's on my LX. They work great and came back with a flow chart showing the recorded performance of each injector. It's also cheaper than buying new ones.

Sorry guys, I realize the post is a bit vague and I haven't been able to get here (or to the car) like I've wanted to. Anyway..

89 GT convertible. Stock 69k miles. 5 speed. Largely original.

Starts can be kind of rough, but it will start and remain running on the second try without giving it gas. Mostly.
Idles, but the whole idle is kind of "shaky". The engine is not running that smoothly at idle.
At idle, you can hear a bit of "stumble" in the right side exhaust, but the left bank sounds fine