Geordie's 65 Coupe - Engine

geordie

Founding Member
May 10, 2002
Per my previous thread (now sadly history), I’ve removed the engine from the car. I trawled through the bunch of receipts and notes that I’ve got from the previous owner. I knew the guy so I think that this is accurate. Below is a summary of my engine components. It was rebuilt about 10,000 miles ago. I’m not going to race the car. I’m looking for something that looks good, sounds good with good performance.

The main reason for removing the engine was to clean up and detail the engine compartment. Plus, I’ve never done it before so I removed it as a learning experience.

Engine – 302 cubic inch V8, bored .030 oversize, balanced, with a Hi-Po (65) torsional damper, ARP rod bolts used.
High flow 351 Windsor 11:1 compression heads (with longer head bolts and longer hardened push rods).
Roller rockers with guide plates, screw in rocker studs with double valve springs and anti-pump lifters,
Ford Cobra Dual plane intake manifold (completely open below the carburetor).
Ford Motorsport (P/N M-6250-A312) camshaft using flat top hydraulic lifters (duration intake 290 deg., exhaust 300 deg., lift intake .472, exhaust .496)
Edelbrock 600 cfm 4 barrel 1405 Performer series manual choke carburetor.
Windage tray with Cobra oil pan, high volume oil pump with HD drive shaft
Roller HD timing chain.
Petronix Ignitor II breakerless ignition, Flame Thrower II coil,
Aluminum 65 Hi-Po water pump,
Lakewood engine cradle mounts ’67 style.
Headers (not matched length)

Transmission – Tremec TR-3550 five speed manual.
Rear end – Ford 9 inch, LSD.

I’ thinking about replacing the intake manifold with something a bit more modern. Edelbrock have suggested their RPM Air Gap manifold #7521. I would like to replace the cast aluminum oil pan as I don’t like the style and I’ve already stripped the thread on the drain plug once. In addition I’m looking for a high performance fuel pump to replace the stock one.