Low Coolant Light came on today. Pics

5.0Torx

Dec 30, 2007
Greetings,

I had a "Low Coolant" light go off yesterday in my new '94 GT. The car is bone stock, I just bought it last week. I am not new to 5.0s - have had a '93 5.0 fox for 6 years and still have it - but I am new to 94/95 SN 5.0s. Anyways, I didnt have time for a lengthly diagnosis so I threw all the extra coolant I had in the overflow tank and drove off. I think it was honestly too much, because when I got home later that day, it was dripping out of the cap. Please see below and advise. I apologize for my dirty engine bay, I havent had time to detail it yet.

img1708ef.jpg

img1713c.jpg

This is what my fan / plug look like. I have researched the overheating issues on 94/95s and have seem some pretty awful looking plugs. Mine seems to be in decent shape, yes? The car has just 60k miles on it(!).
img1714m.jpg

This is the CCRM, yes? Why in the world did Ford program the low/high speed fan settings at such high temps?! I have seen my temp gauge get to the A or L in "NORMAL" on the gauge. If you flip the AC on, which, if I'm not mistaken, turns the fan on high speed @ <48 mph, you'll see the gauge gradually get down to the N or O in "NORMAL". This is also where the gauge rests if you're on the highway, AC or not.
img1715s.jpg

This is the temp sensor for the gauge, yes? Where is the ECT?
img1720a.jpg

This is a pic of the lower radiator hose, from under the car. I squished the hose with the engine off and felt the spring. Didnt feel broken to me.
img1721zl.jpg

This is my upper radiator hose. It gets hot and doesnt swell up or anything abnormal.
img1723t.jpg

And no dripping/leaking/pooling of anything on the timing cover...
img1724y.jpg

Sorry for the awful picture, but the oil was changed by the dealer I bought it from. I checked it and didnt see any "chocolate milkshake", i.e. coolant in the oil.
img1728d.jpg

Lastly, this is the radiator cap. Is 16psi correct?
img1729x.jpg