Mechanic Said I Have Bad Wiring Harness On Engine?

Miller220

Sep 12, 2009
I had issues with my car a while back, and I'm finally getting it out for the summer and was curious. My old mechanic (he was awefully shady, did some shady work) said that I was having issues with the wiring harness on my engine. I'll be honest, I'm no mechanic, however, I'll assume he is talking about my wires going to the coils? For what its worth, I've had my coils redone because I was having issues before. My engine will still tremor once in a while, and he (ex mechanic) said that one of my cylinders wasn't firing reliably. Has anyone had any experience with this, or anything like it?

• Sponsors (?)

Does a check engine light accompany the tremor? Does the car otherwise run fine or are there other problems that you have noticed?
Lets forget anything that the so called mechanic has told you prior and start from square one.

When does this tremor occur? At idle, in gear, while driving, under load, while moving, in neutral?

More details please?

Have you run the engine for codes? A cylinder misfire usually shows up on a code scan.

The tremor occurs at idle. The alternator died, and I'm replacing that tomorrow. In the past, I've had issues with misfires, however I haven't checked to see if its throwing any cides recently. The car alternator died in mid December, so I'll get it up and running and report back with my findings. If I am still having issues with misfires, what could cause that assuming I've had the coils and plugs done within the past 2 years?

I once had a bad misfire, VERY noticeable at idle. It turned out to be fouled up spark plugs. When was the last time you changed your plugs?

I didn't even know than an engine balancer was a thing. How would I check it? My alternator should be here soon! I'm pumped. Other than that, I'm 80% sure they were done when my coils were done a few years ago.