Need help with brake lines, pics.

ttopstang

Sep 6, 2007
Birmingham, AL
I'm still in the process of doing the rear disc and I got my upgraded master cylinder and booster in, but to get my old one out, I had to cut one of the brake lines. Its the one that's in the center on the bottom. The nut was stripped and I tried everything to get it off.

Anyways, what would ya'll do in this situation? My master cylinder now only has spots for 2 lines instead of 3.
I'm touching the line I'm talking about, kind of hard to see.

• Sponsors (?)

Well, two options.

Replace the line, or reflare the line. Replacing is easy. Just go to napa or whatever part store and get a straight piece of line and a tubing bender. 24" might work.

As for what to do with the 3rd line...did you buy a 3-2 port conversion kit? Or perhaps grab a non abs sn95 prop valve?

You might need a little more length on that line you cut but I'm not sure. When I did the conversion I gutted the stock PV then found an adapter piece to connect the third line to the PV. I think the 3-2 kit will work and give you some length for the cut line. You could always call MM and they'd tell you for sure.

MM website says the 3-2 kit is for 93 cobra, or 94-95 gt master cylinder.

My master cylinder is from a 99 v6, all the kits I see are for 93 cobra or 94-95 gt.

MM isn't open yet, I guess I'll give them a call when they open, but here is the list I think I need, not sure though. If I'm missing something let me know.

http://www.maximummotorsports.com/s...age=product_info&cPath=49_145&products_id=688
http://www.maximummotorsports.com/s...age=product_info&cPath=49_145&products_id=687
http://www.maximummotorsports.com/s...age=product_info&cPath=49_140&products_id=673