Rebuild heads or new heads

• Sponsors (?)

You guys should stop with the flywheel talk.
In 99.9 percent of cases it's not provable.

gt40 iron heads with a cam and gt40 explorer intake will make 250-265rwhp. That's really not opinion, it's been done thousands of times.

TFS kit will make 290-310rwhp. Again, i consider this to be fact.

It goes up from there, custom cam's, better intakes, afr heads you can stretch it all the way to 359rwhp (which is the best i've personally seen from any stock 302).

Electric fans should not be any type of priority on a gt40 iron setup, if you have an extra $400 it should goto the heads long before that. You have the best parts already? Go ahead, just don't expect a lot of return for your money.

For the OP, what makes you think the heads are the problem and the engine isn't burning oil?

Again, I am new to getting this deep in an engine. #8 plug looks like I dipped it in mud. You can see the #8 valves in the pic above look pretty bad and #6 is starting to get that way. The rest of the plugs are pretty lean. Maybe I am overlooking something else?

I agree but we don't know the miles, it was just my opinion.

I have just under 100k on the car. Not sure if anything was ever done to lower end. here are some pics of #8

Attachments

• 20200901_101302.jpg
    20200901_101302.jpg
    515.7 KB · Views: 122
  • 20200901_101725.jpg
    20200901_101725.jpg
    536.9 KB · Views: 127
Just spoke with previous owner. It had new rings and bearings less than 20k ago.
Which would beg the question, why did an 80,000 mile car need new rings and bearings, when they typically last at least twice (sometimes triple) that?
I'm guessing at this point you are thinking it's the valve seals which is why you are considering heads or head work.

Couple things, valve seals are rarely the culprit and the compression is unilaterally on the lower end.
Next, i rarely trust any rebuilt 302. I'd rather have a factory explorer shortblock than one that is home rebuilt.