Stick vs. Auto (not that again!)

Tupperware

Oct 5, 2004
Raeford, NC
Okay, I've been lurking on the board here since pre-release of the 05 and am currently at a point in my life where I am seriously thinking about buying one. I would LOVE to get a manual GT, but I'm a bit worried.

This will be my first manual car. I've driven stick, but it's been quite some time so I'm sure the learning curve will be fairly steep (i.e., I'll pick up quickly), but I wanted some opinions.

Is this a car I should get as a "first manual car" or would I be better off getting the auto. for a car as powerful as this one is when I have limited experience with manual vehicles?

I apologize if I sound like a moron, but I want to at least TRY to avoid looking like an idiot when I attempt to drive my new pony off the lot.

/end stupid question

-Jake

• Sponsors (?)

with 300 hp and 320 lbs of torque, all you have to do is gently take your foot off the clutch. let the engine do the rest. this aint a 95 hp 4 cylinder motor, this is a real motor. it should be very easy for you to pick up the manual trans again with this car. dont worry about it. you can drive it in the back of the lot first where nobody else can see you first if you are that worried about it. i dont forsee a problem. GO FOR IT!!!

Dr_EluSivE said:
autos suck. Get a manual. Better milage, more fun, less maintence, better drivability, faster, cheaper, and you dont look like a pansy for driveing and auto. Its no contest.

Dr.

agreed!

an auto in a true performance car is like kissing your sister......... just ain't right or the same ;)