Termi vs coyote

Whitehorse88

Apr 3, 2018
Ok. I know this has most likely been discussed in many threads but I’m new to this an need opinions. Let me start by saying I’m a fox body purist. I love the sound and always have. We all new when a fox body was coming just by the sound. I just recently bought a fox coupe. Bought it cause the body was as straight as could be. Not happy with the mechanics but I’m anal with that stuff. I’ve always wanted to do a terminator swap cause it gives me that classic mustang sound with modern tech. That being said. I want to bring my fox to the modern era. Do I spend the extra cash on a termi set up or go coyote. I have seen so many opinions on this. Compression ratio with boost vs N.A. high compression engine. Has anyone out there compared the 2, physically? I don’t need super numbers. It’s going to be a street queen.

• Sponsors (?)

Thats a tough one. Both power plants are light weight and the stock coyote is great n/a in a light weight foxbody. The terminator may need a little help to match the coyote hp numbers and there are some blower options to up the hp numbers, it may come down to money, the aluminum 4.6 with a blower (I like blowers, what can I say) may be a few dollars less to transplant.
Just my inexperienced opinion.
Like the old say'n goes: what kind of kool can you afford?

Ok, that's not an old say'n, I just made that up.

Reactions: 1 users
Wait for the release of the gen III coyote. Direct port injection.

Plus you won’t have to rebuild it right away since you know all the parts are new.

You’ll have to get the control pack too. That seems expensive on first view, but what will you do about running a terminator? You’ll use a 14-15 year old wiring system that might be damaged. Or you’ll have to buy new from Ron Francis or Painless, then you’ll want a new engine management system like PMS or Holley.