Turbo Help

Anti_Hero0932

Jan 29, 2012
LaGrange, MO
Hey guys. im getting ready to put my small block together. its pretty well stock besides a small cam. ported iron heads and gt40 intake. has head studs and a main girdle. what size turbo are you guys running on this size engine? i dont want to use the on3 70mm to awful bad. thinking about ordering something from VS racing just didnt know what size.

car will have 60lb injetors and a 340lph pump.

Thanks!

• Sponsors (?)

you can go bigger on the pump but the fuel will get hot. some think this is a moot point. your stock block and internals will give up before you run out of pump. around 12psi is about as far as you want to push it.

I'm no turbo expert but from what I've seen you don't want bigger than 70mm for your setup. Any bigger and you'll lag big time. If I'm reading your combo correctly, you have a 302 engine, ported E7 heads, and an explorer intake, right?

Reactions: 1 user
I have the on3 turbo 8in my car. No issues with it. O did have to buy a oil restrictor for it. My oil pressure starts off at about 90psi.

yes sir pretty well factory besides e cam gt 40 intake. hogged out e7's and the usual little things like 75mm tb and egr delete.

most my friends have cammed ls cars i think it would be pretty funny to go out with a stock headed fox and hurt some feelings. i just sold a cammed z28 that made 368 rwhp and it was pretty fun. this fox is lighter and has the potential for more horse and a lot more tq

heres a pic of the car.

i had an 86 lx car before this and a 91 coupe as well.

Attachments

• fox1.jpg
    fox1.jpg
    119.7 KB · Views: 120
I bought an 82 for my one lady.... it had first issues in the roof. It's in a new home with someone else.

The on3 kits have come a long way. I'm happy with the turbo I have but would love a turbonetics or precision turbo.

The 76mm on3 turbo upgrade is decent. My engine is far from stock though.

Oil changes and proper timing is the key to the life of a turbo.