Drivetrain What To Look For When Buying A Used Aod?

I am looking for a used AOD and I know there are no guarantees when doing this. But are there some outward things I can inspect for when looking at one? Also I am gonna try to tackle the install by myself. I have some mechanical skills but never tackled a tranny and most of my stuff is self taught or learn by watching others. Is this something a hobbyist garage mechanic can handle? Will I need special tools?

Any input appreciated. Oh yea the car is a 89 GT stock GT.

• Sponsors (?)

no special tools but might want a friend or two if you don't have a trans jack. I've found removing the Motor mounts and using a cherry picker to hold engine and removing the headers really helps the exhaust on AOD transmissions is really tight plus the x pipe will need to be out to get the trans in anyways

as fare as inspection pull the tranny pan and look at the fluid.
look for cracks in the casting and so forth.
the best way would be to already have it installed in a vehicle but if thats not possible its kind of a crap shoot.

I will never again buy one that:
was obviously ran without a throttle cable, or maladjusted cable...
is not sealed up, including still holding the converter in place, and all holes carefully plugged...
does not have a pan and gasket securely in place...
I cannot remove pan and inspect the inside before buying it...
the moving parts inside do not move with hand pressure... (servos and pistons)
the fluid is totally gone, dirty, or contaminated with water... (or anything else)

Even after all of this, you could still end up with a boat anchor.
All of these things I have seen wrong, and the tranny didn't work.
Always fill the converter partially on a tranny that has sat, or you can burn up parts/pump before it primes.