WHERE is the LOVE for 02 GT Brakes?! (PS I need help finding new pads for my 02 gt)

Miller220

Sep 12, 2009
Anyone have suggestions? All the threads I saw are for guys with Cobras and the like looking for new brakes, but nothing for GT's. I'm still fairly new to actually CARING about what goes onto my car, and for the Falcon(I Fancy myself a 20 year old Han Solo driving a Silver Mustang JTLYK). I'm pretty hard on my brakes, and dont have a CLUE as to what is on now.

A short version of all that nonsense, is....Brake Pad Suggestions for a 20 year old that can do the kessle run in less then 12 par secs?:rolleyes:

• Sponsors (?)

Consider Cobra brake upgrade

I installed Cobra brakes on my 2003 GT. The difference was amazing! The pedal is more responsive. Takes less effort to stop in normal driving. If you really need to stop, WOW!

Best single upgrade by far I have done to my car.

You will have to have 17" rims to clear.

If $$ is short, the Ford racing catalog has two sets of Cobra brakes. The older/cheaper one will fit on a late model. You will need to re-use the stock brake line.

My pads are worn out, and I want cobra brakes...but I'm in college, and dont have a job at the moment...just commute to and from school every day, SO...am I to understand from all this that there are no brake pads in particular that I should be looking for?

So what's wrong with going to your local auto parts store and getting a premium set (not house brand)? I have had good luck with Wagner brand.

To get a great brake job, do the other things as well. Surface the rotors. Clean and grease the slide pins. Clean the metal/metal contact areas where the pads set on the brackets.

If the brake fluid is dark black, flush the old fluid by bleeding the brakes.