First Oil Change

Still Bill

Oct 25, 2014
Washington State.
I have a 15 mustang 3.7L.
So maybe I am approaching this from an old "Hot Rodders" view point, but 10000 miles until the first oil change seems like a lot of miles on a brand new engine. I have 3800+ miles on it now and feel like I should get the oil changed. The oil still appears darn clean, but that doesn't mean there aren't small metal particles circulating from break in, unless that is no longer the case with new engines? Sorry if this is discussed elsewhere, could not find anything with search regarding the subject.

Disclaimer: I am not good with the search function. :shrug:

• Sponsors (?)

I always do a short change on a new motor. If it's a motor I built, I change at 500, 1000, and then normal after that.

I changed the oil in this at 1000 miles.

Oil's cheap, motors ain't. You'll never hurt the motor by changing it MORE often.

Reactions: 1 user
Nope, you're good. I swapped over to Royal Purple at the first change.

Knock on wood.....but I swear by the stuff. I've run it in all my big HP stuff and have never had an oil related issue with any of my motors. Even on the truck, which hasn't been under 700 hp since 2008 and has been over 1000 hp since 2010, it still has all the original cross-hatching on the cylinder walls.

The motor in the Chevelle is going on 4-years at over 1000 hp and hasn't gotten anything more than routine maintenance.

My normal procedure is this, if it's a motor I've put together.....