Getting 90gt Ready For Dyno/tune Shop

90GTFIVO

Apr 28, 2011
Carroll, OH
I have a supercharged 5.0 and have finally found what seems to be a very reputable Foxbody dyno/tune shop in Columbus, OH. Talked to the owner today and gave him my list of mods on my 90GT. He recommended I make some changes/upgrades before I bring the car in. As a few on here already hit on, I need to beef up my fuel pump from 190 Lph to 255 Lph and my 24# injectors to 42# or 60# (if price is comparable). This will allow me to do away with the FMU.

I'm new to all this and he mentioned something about 40# based pressure. No idea what this means, can anyone help?

Few other things I picked up on from reading about the V3 SCi:

I currently have a 75mm mass air meter. If I up the injector size, do I need to have the mass air re-calibrated?

How important is it to upgrade my ignition system?

I read where it would be wise to change plugs to 1 heat range colder than stock. I'll probably go ahead and do this since it will be fairly inexpensive.

If you have any suggestions on what injectors to buy and best places to buy them (cost), please let me know. Thanks!

• Sponsors (?)

definitely upgrade to a 255 lph high pressure pump that is meant for boost. I would get 60#ers and maf does need to be calibrated for it. Im running an n/a 333 and planning on boosting it. I coyld get away with my 42# injectors, but probably be near max so i will be getting 60's also

Mustang stock factory fuel pressure is 39 psi, or a nominal 40 psi. Sometimes it is advantageous to boost fuel pressure so you can use smaller injectors, but it can cause fuel pump issues (higher pressure can result in less volume from many pumps). Size of injectors required depends on how much HP you plan to run. The MA does need calibrated to the fuel injectors, though the tuner can tune around it (though that means you can't drive the car to the tuner shop with the new injectors installed).