I know this has been Beat to death, but I'm still confused..

I'm talking about Cam Degreeing. I have a stumble that I thought was tune related, some of you may remember my post. I've been dealing with the head engineer over at sniper and we've eliminated the "tune" as the source of the "chugging" feeling...Leaving me to believe it's Cam Timing...I have no PTV, but it must be off enough to effect performance... though I'm no expert, so if anyone has any other suggestions please let me know.

so under my current plan of attack I need pop off the front cover, valve cover, and degree....

I'm so F ing confused about this, half the threads i come across are people arguing....:mad: I've obviously never degreed before.

Does this kit include everything I'll need? http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.asp?autofilter=1&part=CCA-4796&N=700+115&autoview=sku

If not, can someone put a link for one that does, I'd like to order ASAP with overnight shipping so I can get my car up and going for a trip to the drags on next tues.

I've seen people mention two different ways to degree......which one is the best for someone like me that's never done it B4? The whole process seems really confusing to me now, but I'm sure once I do it, things will clear up...as they did with the head and everything else install I just did...

• Sponsors (?)

do you have access to a vaccum gauge? as a vac gauge can tell you alot of whats going on inside your engine,ie: late valve timing, poor valve(s) seating, sticking valve(s) due to valve to guide issues, something patroit has had problems wth in the past and other sealing issues like rings or gaskets and a whole-lot more and before you tear it down, do a comp or leak test

just don't go rippin' into stuff:nonono:

Here is a write-up from MD.com:

You should need adjustable cam gears as well I believe...

http://www.vtengines.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=11_1_8&products_id=1527

Degreeing a camshaft: