Looking to sell my 90foxbody for an 99-04gt.. have some ?'s

1990Coupe

Founding Member
Mar 11, 2002
Toms River NJ
Pretty soon after i get my fox painted, im thinking about selling her, and my Daily Driver (01 explorer sport) for a 99-04gt.. Im totally new to the 4.6 sohc engine, and its kinda intimidating to me.... I build a 306 with my dad for my first mustang, the one i have now is pretty much a bolt on stang.
The things that have me intimated are like Cam swaps, that whole Overhead cam jazz has me kinda nervous to try it myself, also i see there are different manifolds for like the 96-98 im guessing they are like the non PI intakes, then i think i saw that the intakes from 99-02 are the same and 03-04 are different? what should i look for and what are the "good" years to get? Every model has good years with the best stuff people want. I plan on supercharging it in the future so i will prolly get into the cam's eventually, and the intake.. just curious on the difficulty on working in these engines....
sorry for the long post!

• Sponsors (?)

dont be intimidated just dive into it. read up on what you're doing before you do it & ask alot of questions & you'll be good to go. to quote someone from another forum loosly "80% of working on these cars is having the balls to take them apart" :nice: if you are wanting to do a cam swap use bill putnams write up over on MD, it's very helpful

stangman said:
dont be intimidated just dive into it. read up on what you're doing before you do it & ask alot of questions & you'll be good to go. to quote someone from another forum loosly "80% of working on these cars is having the balls to take them apart" :nice: if you are wanting to do a cam swap use bill putnams write up over on MD, it's very helpful

:nice: thanks ill have to check out that write up!

1986Stang said:
By look better im guessing you mean that the newer ones come with the smoked headlights, and the side scoopes behind the doors are longer?