New to this Carburetor stuff..Help car wont start.

dsinka01

Oct 10, 2009
Richmond, MI
Ok so i got this carb used first of all. It is an edelbrock 1406 performer carb with electric choke, and when i crank the car, the only way i can get it to fire at all is if i FLOOR it, it starts for 4 or 5 seconds and dies. Now since im new to this, im wondering.. i dont not have my intake port on the back ( that goes to my brake booster) blocked off , it is just sucking air. (bad idea????) also on the front of the carb , there are two ports, driver side has a vacuum cap on it, the passenger side is open ( i think these are for vacuum advance or something?) my distributer is a MSD and doesnt use any vacuum. should i block the other port off? I'm getting spark, im getting fuel. I really think im getting too much air. Then again, like i said im new to this carb stuff. ANYONE, is there a way with the mixture screws on the front of the carb to find a good starting point? ( like screw them all the way in , then back out a turn or two???)

side note, the car is on blocks so i dont need the brakes yet, that's why i dont have the booster vacuum line on. (didnt think it would be an issue)

Thanks in advance guys, you have never let me down yet. Love this forum.

Derek.

• Sponsors (?)

Fix all the vacuum leaks and disconnected vacuum lines first.

Idle mixture screws:
Turn the screw all the way in and then back out 2 1/2 turns. A vacuum gauge is the best tool to use for idle adjustment. Once it starts to idle, turn each idle mixture screw until you get the highest vacuum reading. You may have to turn the screw in or out depending on your carb setup. I would recommend to turn them in first and, if the vacuum doesn't peak, turn them out until it does. Adjust one side and get it right and then do the other side. It should not make any difference which side you start with.