Ok, Let's Mull This Over..

Boosted92LX

It's only an inch or two. What's the big deal?
15 Year Member
Dec 19, 2010
I need to change head gaskets in my fox. I have a bad back, and a bad knee. Both are getting better, but the idea of leaning over the fender of a car for hours to do this job is not apealing in the least. Let's also remember I have gobs of turbo piping that needs to come off. All of this has lead me to the idea that it most likely will be easier ergonomically to just pull the whole dang engine and trans, split them, and set the engine on a stand to do my repairs and upgrades.

Now. That said, I wanna pull the whole enchilada at once, no pulling ps pumps, blah, blah, blah. Everthing, piping and all. Ergonomics. Remember? So- I've never done it before, and I don't have my lift yet, but with the piping, it looks like it might be easiest to drop engine, k member and all out the bottom, and hoist the front of the car up with the engine hoist.

Thoughts, ideas, finger signs?

Past experiences, photos, war stories?

Reactions: 1 user
  • Sponsors (?)

I've done it on an fbody. It's a pita getting all the wiring, hoses, and related extraneous bits clear. I can't imagine how you could do that with turbo piping in the way and have it be less labor intensive than pulling through the top..

It can be done. As the car comes up it'll want to pull away from an engine hoist. It would be better to use two big jacks ( one on each side ). I tried the engine hoist bolted to front frame rails once...didn't work out...very dangerous. Car actually slid back with the wheels chocked and e brake on....then tried to tip the hoist forward.

The team z lower core support would make that a lot easier....I'm sure one could be made pretty easy. Mine is bolted on so it'll unbolt for exactly what you have in mind.

Reactions: 2 users