The quickest way to gain 40 hp

justinmanges05

Mar 14, 2010
I'm fairly new to the 4.6 liter motor. I just bought an 02 Mustang GT, and it is rated at 260 hp. Thats a stupid number. I mean, why not 300? So, what I want to know is, what is the most cost effective way to bump this car up into the 300 horse range?

-Justin-

• Sponsors (?)

Stage 2 Cams/springs + long tube headers. I think that would get you about where you want.

Simple answer to your question is they didn't want the GT encroaching on the Mach 1 or Cobra's territory.

Reactions: 1 user
Are you refering to engine HP or rear wheel HP? 40bhp (engine HP) is going to be a LOT easier to obtain than 40 rear wheel HP (obviously).

The following is based on REAR WHEEL HP.....

Simple answer:

Cams
50-shot

Complicated Answer:

Full exhaust + full intake + tune

I'm fairly new to the 4.6 liter motor. I just bought an 02 Mustang GT, and it is rated at 260 hp. Thats a stupid number. I mean, why not 300? So, what I want to know is, what is the most cost effective way to bump this car up into the 300 horse range?

-Justin-
Just be happy with what you have for ****'s sake you just got the damn car.

Have you even detailed it inside and out, replaced all the fluids, and done all kinds of crazy excessive preventative maintenance on it yet? Do that first and give careful consideration to how you are going to mod it while you do that work.

Then do gears.

I'm fairly new to the 4.6 liter motor. I just bought an 02 Mustang GT, and it is rated at 260 hp. Thats a stupid number. I mean, why not 300?

First, did you not know it was "only" 260 before you wrote the cheque? Or did you discover this after the fact?