Clutch Cable.. Pedal Hard To Push In

Benz510

Feb 19, 2016
Oakland California
Hey all,

Just purchased a '89 GT. This is my 3rd fox body. It has been a while since owning one so i'm kind of new to all of this again.The 91 i owned seemed to be the same but it had a centerforce in it and my 92 i owned seemed to be easier than this one. Anyways, The clutch pedal seems a bit hard to push in. I have been reading up on it and I know if there is a aftermarket clutch installed that it may cause it to be hard. Also i have read that the clutch cable may be worn out and need to be replaced etc.

I believe the clutch is stock so i was thinking about replacing the clutch cable with an aftermarket cable. Would this be a smart thing to do or is there anything else that i can check? To be honest the clutch cable probably needs to be replaced anyways being that it is a 27 yr old vehicle. I don't remember if these pedals are just hard to push in like that from the factory or what not. I know i can go to a hydraulic conversion but would rather save money and go with a new clutch kit if this will cure the problem. Everything goes into gear without any problems but reverse seems to grind here and there unless i make sure i put it in reverse slow.

What is everyones thoughts? Info? Suggestions?

Last edited:
  • Sponsors (?)

The first thing I would do is look and see if it has the stock plastic quadrant on it.

If it does I would suggest replacing it with this. http://www.maximummotorsports.com/Clutch-Cable-Quadrant-and-Firewall-Adjuster-Package-P385.aspx

yep, it's stock. I've known this from when i bought it. Will this kit change the pressure needed to apply the clutch pedal? I have been thinking of either this kit or going with an Hydraulic conversion kit BUT if this kit will make a difference like night and day then i would rather save money and go the route you are recommending. I appreciate your feedback :)