Flex Plate Or Flywheel

kingleodiorio

May 1, 2011
hello, I'm getting ready to put a new motor in my 67 mustang. It's my first project and I've ran into a small problem. I'm mating the engine (1978 5.0) to a c4 automatic transmission. Do I need a flex plate, or flyeheel? do I have to get it balanced for my engine, or are they generic in that regard. Why is the number of teeth important? How do I choose the right part for this job?

Thanks,
Leo

• Sponsors (?)

hello, I'm getting ready to put a new motor in my 67 mustang. It's my first project and I've ran into a small problem. I'm mating the engine (1978 5.0) to a c4 automatic transmission. Do I need a flex plate, or flyeheel? do I have to get it balanced for my engine, or are they generic in that regard. Why is the number of teeth important? How do I choose the right part for this job?

Thanks,
Leo

First of all, lets discuss the engine as you need to identify it correctly to get the correct parts. The engine known as a 5.0 didn't first come out until approximately 1985. Those motors use a 50oz imbalance crankshaft/balancer/flexplate or flywheel.

A 1978 motor is properly called a 302 (even though it works out to 5.0 liters.) Unless it has been modified internally (unlikely) it will use a 28 oz imbalance crankshaft/balancer/flexplate or flywheel.

Obviously that distinction between the 2 motors is very relevant to getting the correct parts for your motor. You cannot intermix those parts without having severe vibration problems. Other parts (heads/intakes/etc) can be swapped without issues, but not the a fore mentioned crank related parts.