Newbe here with a couple ?'s

66er

Aug 22, 2009
Hello all & this is my 1st post. I am now the proud owner of a 66 Ht. 289 w/auto. As a former GM owner, I have little knowledge of the Mustang world. The last Ford I owned was a 1955 Fairlane WAY back in 1969. So, I will be learning as my mistakes warrant.

Anyway, My car has the 3sp auto floor shifter without console. The shifter is very sloppy. Do they make a rebuild kit for this? Also, do 1st gen mustangs have a high lock to lock steering ratio? This is manual steering. Seems I have to turn the wheel a lot more than my previous non-Ford vehicle.

One more question. Is there a FAQ on "poor man's" front drum to disk how too?

Any links for good sources of parts or forum vendors would be helpful.....

thanks......

• Sponsors (?)

Don't know about the automatic shifter since all I have are manuals...

Manual steering boxes have a higher steering ratio and thus more turns lock-to-lock than power steering boxes.

The "poor man's" disk brake conversion is the Granada swap, but the spindle geometry isn't quite right for the '65-66 Mustangs. There is a lot of information on htese forums about it, mostly pertaining to '65-66 cars. CSRP(screen name "degins" on here) has original/Kelsey-Hayes-style conversions that use the stock V8 front spindles.

There are lots of classic Mustang parts houses....National Parts Depot, CJ Pony Parts, California Mustang, Sacramento Mustang, Mustangs Plus, Mustang Depot, and Tony Branda, to name a few.

First off, welcome aboard and get ready for a lot of "my dad's first car was a Mustang!" type experiences in the parking lots.