Fox Good Dumped Exhaust?

What dumped exhaust/catback brand do you like?

• Total voters

Saminator0107

5 Year Member
Jul 9, 2017
Hello, does anybody have any good dumped exhaust setups? I'm a little new to the fox thing, cause i just bought a 88 LX Monday. The previous owner had a crappy exhaust with no hangars and crappy welds. Does anybody have any recommendations for dumped exhaust. I want something not extremely loud, but loud enough to hear me coming, lol. My car has bbk shorty headers, i might be changing them out, not sure though. Or i might do a catback, so if anybody has a good catback, let me know. I don't want it super expensive, no more than 500$. Thanks, Sam.

• Sponsors (?)

Dumped exhaust, in general, is very loud. The sound vibrations bounce from pavement to car and amplify the sound level. Gas tank also plays a role in amplification.

I don't know many that ran dumps for a long period of time. I, along with others, tried it out and then quickly added tailpipes. It's very loud inside the car

Reactions: 1 users
Hmm, seems I remember a thread titled: Mods you want to reverse, or wish you never did..

Dumped exhaust was close to #1.

People will hear you coming regardless. A mustang has one of the most iconic exhaust sounds of any car/brand ever.

Cutting off the tail pipes, or eliminating them only makes for a smelly passenger compartment, adds to potential exhaust drone while at cruising speed, And just being louder overall.
Which makes for a crappy sounding audio system, and a yelling match when talking to your equally foul smelling passenger.

( Check with your girl friend to see if she doesn't mind smelling like the inside of a muffler the next time you take her to a movie)

But...

Everybody has to find sht out the hard way,...Which means you'll have to be the one that has to come to terms with the noise, the smell, and the possible law violation of a dumped exhaust yourself.

I get to be the one that says I told you so.

Last edited: